Laboratory employee carrying out an analysis

IREKS IQ

The electrical conductivity of a flour sample being determined to infer the water content of the flour

IREKS and IQ – innovation and quality

For us, IQ stands for innovation and quality! In concrete terms, this means that more than 250 employees worldwide do research on raw materials and raw material trends, develop new products and ensure the highest quality in every production step.

Five pillars for innovation and quality

Quality is our lifeblood, from the seed to the finished baked goods. That is why we accompany the entire formation and production process of our products with thorough analyses, quality tests and baking trials.

Driven by our aspiration to innovation, we are constantly looking for ways to improve and develop products that allow our customers to advance. To this end, we have compiled a principle based on our quality policy, supported by five pillars: IREKS IQ.

Research


Scientists from various specialist fields such as food engineering, natural products and drug chemistry or biology do research on innovative product solutions day after day. Thanks to a constant exchange with our expert teams worldwide, we recognise trends early on. For example, we test around 400 new raw materials every year. In addition, cooperation with suppliers and research institutions enriches our research network.

Development


At our company headquarters in Kulmbach alone, we bake around 8,000 development variations every year. Our best ideas give rise to a large number of new products and product revisions. These are checked with the help of extensive product-specific analysis methods. In addition, more than 30 trained employees evaluate raw materials and products within a sensory panel in regard to appearance, texture, aroma and taste.

Food law


In addition to analytic reliability, we also provide support in the “jungle of laws and regulations”. We regularly check the legal framework and issue country-specific declarations as well as product certificates. Moreover, we are gladly available to our customers for individual enquiries regarding our products.

Quality assurance


At IREKS, every incoming raw material, every processing stage and every finished product batch is subject to the most sensitive quality controls. In addition to more than 370,000 approval analyses, around 28,000 baking tests per year ensure optimum product quality. Our ultra trace analysis laboratory is unique in the industry. It enables us, for example, to check all raw materials for the smallest residues of heavy metals and pesticides. We are thus able to detect up to 1 gram in 1,000 tonnes of a raw material.

Quality management


The core objectives of our commitment are the satisfaction of our customers and their trust in the safety of our products. That is why we constantly put our processes to the test. A team of more than 25 internal auditors ensures the continuous review and improvement of processes and suppliers. In addition, two interdisciplinary teams are constantly working on optimising our HACCP system and our allergen management system, which among other things further reduces the risk of cross-contamination.

IREKS IQ Centres worldwide

In our worldwide network of IQ Centres, the five pillars of our IREKS IQ concept are put into practice every day by teams of experts.

Research and development is therefore not only carried out at our headquarters in Kulmbach, but also in many IREKS Centres worldwide.

You can find the locations of our IQ Centres on the map.

IREKS IQ

IREKS und IQ – mit Sicherheit innovativ

IQ steht bei uns für Innovation und Qualität! Konkret heißt das: Mehr als 250 Mitarbeitende weltweit forschen zu Rohstoffen und Rohstofftrends, entwickeln neue Produkte und sorgen für höchste Qualität in jedem Produktionsschritt.

Fünf Säulen für Innovation und Qualität

Qualität wird bei uns vom Saatkorn bis zum fertigen Gebäck gelebt. Deshalb begleiten wir den gesamten Entstehungs- und Herstellungsprozess unserer Produkte mit engmaschigen Analysen, Qualitätstests und Backversuchen.

Angetrieben von unserem Innovationsanspruch suchen wir permanent nach Wegen, uns zu verbessern und entwickeln Produkte, die unsere Kundinnen und Kunden voranbringen. Hierfür haben wir ein Prinzip erarbeitet, das auf unserer Qualitätspolitik basiert und von fünf Säulen getragen wird: IREKS IQ.

Forschung


Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus verschiedenen Fachrichtungen wie Lebensmitteltechnologie, Natur- und Wirkstoffchemie oder Biologie forschen Tag für Tag an innovativen Produktlösungen. Dank des stetigen Austauschs mit unseren Expertenteams weltweit erkennen wir Trends frühzeitig. Pro Jahr testen wir so beispielsweise rund 400 neue Rohstoffe. Darüber hinaus bereichern Kooperationen mit Lieferanten und Forschungseinrichtungen unser Forschungsnetzwerk.

Entwicklung


Allein am Firmenhauptsitz in Kulmbach backen wir jährlich rund 8.000 Entwicklungsvarianten. Aus unseren besten Ideen entsteht eine Vielzahl von Neuprodukten und Produktüberarbeitungen. Diese werden mithilfe umfangreicher produktspezifischer Analyseverfahren untersucht. Zusätzlich bewerten mehr als 30 geschulte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter Rohstoffe und Produkte im Rahmen eines Sensorik-Panels hinsichtlich Aussehen, Textur, Aroma und Geschmack.

Lebensmittelrecht


Neben analytischer Sicherheit bieten wir auch Unterstützung im „Dschungel der Gesetze und Vorschriften". Wir prüfen regelmäßig die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen und erstellen länderspezifische Deklarationsangaben sowie Produktzertifikate. Darüber hinaus stehen wir unseren Kundinnen und Kunden gerne für individuelle Anfragen in Bezug auf unsere Produkte zur Verfügung.

Qualitätssicherung


Jeder Rohstoff, jede Verarbeitungsstufe und jede fertige Produktcharge unterliegt bei IREKS sensibelsten Qualitätskontrollen. Neben mehr als 370.000 Freigabeanalysen stellen rund 28.000 Backversuche pro Jahr eine optimale Produktqualität sicher. Einzigartig in der Branche ist unser Ultraspurenanalytik-Labor. Es ermöglicht uns beispielsweise eine Überprüfung sämtlicher Rohstoffe auf geringste Rückstände von Schwermetallen und Pestiziden. So sind wir in der Lage, bis zu 1 Gramm in 1.000 Tonnen eines Rohstoffs nachzuweisen.

Qualitätsmanagement


Die Hauptziele unseres Engagements sind die Zufriedenheit unserer Kundinnen und Kunden sowie deren Vertrauen in die Sicherheit unserer Produkte. Deshalb stellen wir unsere Prozesse laufend auf den Prüfstand. Ein Team aus mehr als 25 internen Auditorinnen und Auditoren sorgt für kontinuierliche Überprüfung und Verbesserung von Abläufen und Zulieferunternehmen. In zwei interdisziplinären Teams wird außerdem permanent an der Optimierung unseres HACCP-Systems und unseres Allergenmanagementsystems, das das Risiko von Kreuzkontaminationen weiter reduziert, gearbeitet.

IREKS IQ-Zentren weltweit

In unseren weltweit vernetzten IQ-Zentren werden die fünf Säulen unseres IREKS IQ-Konzepts von Expertenteams tagtäglich in die Praxis umgesetzt.

Geforscht und entwickelt wird also nicht nur an unserem Hauptsitz in Kulmbach, sondern auch in vielen IREKS-Zentren weltweit.

Auf der Karte finden Sie die Standorte unserer IQ-Zentren.